Arla Appoints Swedish Vice Chair to Board

At a meeting on May 29, Arla’s Board of Representatives elected the Board of Directors for the next two years. Jan Toft Nørgaard from Denmark was re-elected as Chair, and Inger-Lise Sjöström from Sweden was elected as Vice Chair.

– I am both happy and proud of the appointment. Arla is a strong company with high ambitions and 8,000 owners in seven countries. Together with the rest of the board and company management, I look forward to continuing the work of strengthening and developing our excellent company for the benefit of both current and future generations of dairy farmers, said Inger-Lise Sjöström in a press release.

Fifty-year-old Inger-Lise Sjöström has been a dairy farmer since 1994 and has served on Arla’s board since 2017. In addition to her role at Arla, she is a board member of the Global Dairy Platform and Svensk Mjölk. She and her husband Per Pettersson run a dairy farm in Kolmården, which has 70 cows and a contracting business.

At the meeting, four new board members were also elected: cooperative members Markus Hübers from Germany and George Holmes from the UK, as well as Arla employees Paul Cullen (UK) and Holger Steen Lund (Denmark).

Arla’s board consists of 14 farmers and two external members, who are elected by the representatives. Arla’s employees are represented on the board by three members elected by Arla’s European Works Council.

Arla’s Board 2024-2026:

  • Chairman, Jan Toft Nørgaard, Denmark, board member since 1998, chairman since 2018.
  • Vice Chairwoman, Inger-Lise Sjöström, Sweden, board member since 2017.
  • Arthur Fearnall, UK, board member since 2017.
  • Marcel Goffinet, Belgium, board member since 2019.
  • Daniel Halmsjö, Sweden, board member since 2022.
  • Bjørn Jepsen, Denmark, board member since 2011.
  • Jørn Kjær Madsen, Denmark, board member since 2019.
  • Gustav Kämpe, Sweden, board member since 2021.
  • René Lund Hansen, Denmark, board member since 2019.
  • Steen Nørgaard Madsen, Denmark, board member since 2005.
  • Simon Simonsen, Denmark, board member since 2017.
  • Marita Wolf, Sweden, board member since 2021.
  • Markus Hübers, Germany, board member since 2024.
  • George Holmes, UK, board member since 2024.
  • Nana Bule, Denmark, board member since 2022. External advisor since 2019.
  • Employee Representative, Paul Cullen, United Kingdom, board member since 2024.
  • Employee Representative, Holger Steen Lund, Denmark, board member since 2024.
  • Employee Representative, Anders Olsson, Sweden, board member since 2022.

Read more HERE